Saturday, February 16, 2013

Bamanga Tukur Strikes: Sacks Obasanjo’s Men From Office

… Caretaker Committee Appointed
… Moves To Control South West PDP
SAN FRANCISCO, February 15, (THEWILL) – National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, Alhaji Bamanga Tukur Friday moved to fully wrestle the control of the South West from former President Olusegun Obasanjo with the dissolution of the Exco of the South West and the removal of the National Auditor of the party, Chief Bode Mustapha, an Obasanjo loyalist, from office.

The party in a statement said its decision was based on a May 02, 2012 Federal High Court, Lagos judgement.

The full text of the PDP statement by National Publicity Secretary, Chief Olisa Metuh reads, “Following protracted dispute on the Ogun State and south West Zonal Exco of the Party, a series of suits were filed on the matter, amongst which include FHC/L/CS/1248/2011, FHC/L/CS/282/2012 and FHC/L/CS/347/2012.

On 2nd May 2012 the Federal High Court, Lagos in FHC/L/CS/347/2012 entered judgment in the following terms:

A. That Chief Bode Mustapha is removed from office as the National Auditor of the Peoples Democratic Party;

B. That Alhaji Fatai Adewole Adeyanju is the validly elected National Auditor of the Peoples Democratic Party;

C. That the Peoples Democratic Party is to rectify its records by deleting the name of Chief Bode Mustapha as National Auditor and replacing the same with Alhaji Fatai Adewole Adeyanju;

D. That the South West Zonal Congress of the Peoples Democratic Party conducted in March 2012 is nullified;

E. That the Executive Committee constituted for the PDP in Ogun State at Congresses conducted by the Bashorun Dayo Soremi led harmonized Executive Committee for the Wards, Local Governments and in the State in March 2012 are valid Exco of the Party at the various levels in Ogun State and are entitled to their 4-years tenure (the State Exco list is attached herewith);

F. That the PDP is to organize a fresh South West Zonal Congress at which access is to be given to delegates elected at congresses conducted by or under the supervision of the Soremi-led Ogun State Executive and accept the candidacy, for offices zoned to Ogun State, of only the persons nominated at the said congresses for the said offices.

“The National working Committee of the Party met on 14th February 2013 and gave careful consideration to the issues and decided that, in line with respect to the rule of law which is a cardinal principle of the present administration, the PDP as a law abiding Party, will immediately comply with the said judgment. This is all the more so that same has not been set aside or reversed by any superior court.”

In a related development, the party has constituted a 17-member caretaker committee to take charge of the South West until fresh zonal congresses are conducted.

The committee is headed by Barrister Ishola Filani as Zonal Chairman.

A statement from the National Headquarters of the party listed other members as

  • Chief Pegba Otemolu    - Zonal Secretary  
  • Adedeji Doherty        - Organizing Secretary
  • Rasak Adekonla Akanni       - Auditor
  • Bolaji Jeje    - Youth Leader
  • Orimolade Olanrewaju        - Treasurer
  • Olawunmi Oshinmoluke Yuba  - Woman Leader
  • Banji Obasanmi   - Financial Secretary
  • Barrister Shola Oludipe  - Legal Adviser
  • Lawal Waheed Olatunde   - Publicity Secretary
  • Emmanuel Oladejo   - Ex-Officio
  • Olalekan Abubakar   - Ex-Officio
  • Seun Adesanya   - Ex-Officio
  • Samiu Babatunde    - Ex-Officio
  • Prince Tope Ademiluyi    - Ex-Officio
  • Tunde Olowofoyeku   - Ex-Officio
  • Prince Omoniyi Alo  - Ex-Officio

No comments:

Post a Comment


Please Like Us On facebook